Canada Wood Today | The Canada Wood Group

Canada Wood centered in the Korea Wood Design Award 2016

Sunny Kim

By Sunny Kim

Program Manager / Market Development & Market Access, Canada Wood Korea

January 25, 2017

Sunny participated in the awards ceremony to deliver Canada Wood Award to the winner.

Sunny participated in the awards ceremony to deliver Canada Wood Award to the winner.

The Korea Wood Design Award 2016 (KWDA 2016), co-hosted by the Korea Association of Wood Culture and the Korea Wood Construction Association, was held at the Most Hall on the 12th floor of the Diplomatic Center on November 29, 2016. KWDA has been held to publicize the beauty, environment-friendliness, excellence, and pleasant residential environment of wood frame construction, and this is the 14th year. Canada Wood Korea has been consistently sponsoring KWDA since 2006 by funding the printing of booklets for the awards and providing Design Contest Category winners with the chance to receive training in Canada.

tt5Presentations for KWDA 2016 were held in May with the architecture departments of local universities in each region including Seoul, Busan and Jeonju to explain how to apply alongside special lectures on wood frames and introduction of examples of WFCs overseas. Applications were received between August 29 and September 2, and the Built Contest Category examined applicants through application review and on-site review, while the Design Contest Category, through application review and model review.

The Grand Prize in the Built Contest Category was the Korea Forest Service Minister Award, and it went to ‘KFRI Forest Genetic Resources Department’ by IDS Architects, the largest WFC in Korea introduced in the previous blog article (

tt6In particular, the winner of the Best Prize, the Architecture Department of Kyunghee University, has been donating pavilions, designed and constructed by its students using the lumber every year since 2009 through CWK’s University-Based Training, to the local community. Furthermore, the department won the Best Prize with their work from last year, ‘Nest for Next’.

Also, Mr. Seung Hee Kang, CEO of Nova Architects who participated in the CWK’s annual Developer Mission to Canada participated as a judge and Dong Hee Kim of KDDH Architects started the WFC design after the mission and won the Excellence Award this year.

Award plaques

Award plaques

The Grand Prize in the Design Contest Category was the Agriculture Food and Rural Affairs Minister Award, and it went to ‘O-Ring’ by Hae hwan Kim and Jae pil Heo. They received a two million won cash prize and a chance to receive training in Canada in 2017 through the sponsorship of CWK. The students of Pukyong National University who participated in the ‘Canada-Korea Wood Festival’ in 2014 and 2016 also applied to WFC and had the honor of winning one Best Prize and three Excellence Awards in the Design Contest Category.

Officials from the host and sponsor alongside winners and their friends and families joined the award ceremony to congratulate the winners with flower bouquets and also had wonderful time dining together after the ceremony.